Chairmanship of Defend Ethiopia Task Force in Europe

Pursuant to Article 2.7 on elections in the Organization and Code of conduct document of the Defend Ethiopia Task Force in Europe (DETF-EU), which states ‘the term of the Chairperson and other functions shall have a duration of six months and can only be renewed once (a maximum of two terms of six months)‘, the Steering Group of DETF-EU has conducted a vote on its regular meeting of  Monday 17th of April, 2023. 

The first term of Kitaw (Switzerland) arriving at its end, the chairmanship extension was presented for a vote after a thorough assessment (ግምገማ) of the results during the past six months. Out of the ten participating members, eight have agreed to vote over the extension of the chairmanship for Kitaw, and one member has chosen not to vote. Excused members were informed and given 48 hours to cast their vote.

Based on the ‘one country one vote’ principle, out of the 14 countries in Defend Ethiopia Task Force in Europe, the result of the vote was:

Yes: 11
No: 0
Abstention: 3

defend ethiopia chairperson election results

Defend Ethiopia Task Force in Europe is a group of Ethiopians and friends of Ethiopia in Europe, from all walks of life, including professionals and scholars, defending Ethiopia from pressures by external entities through Public Diplomacy with the support of Ethiopian Communities in Europe. The group has representation from 14 European countries: Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom.

Learn more about DefendEthiopia.EU and join us in promoting and defending Ethiopia.